Blog 11 2016 A Lot of Goals

Standard

17216_901620629928445_7340517969600500046_n

 

2016   Blog 11 A lot of Goals

Do you recall the killer drill of last week? We had to control the ball without using our hands and we weren’t allowed to just roll the ball on the floor. Well this week Alessandro stepped it up a notch and said no hands and no feet. I thought he was joking at first but he said you’ve got many other parts of your body, experiment; control the ball without your hands or your feet. I had a lot of fun figuring out what other parts of the body I could use to control the ball. Knees, elbows, forearms figured prominently. I tried a couple of times head butting it but I didn’t enjoy that too much.

Our next drill was aiming practice and to aim better has long been a goal of mine. So to help with this goal Alessandro came up with two goals at either side of the usual goal and all of a sudden after some pretty intensive labouring of the word goal I have come up with this week’s title of “A Lot of Goals”. Phew, did you keep up with me there? I tell you a slavish devotion to making the title of each blog mean something can be a lonely path at times. Allrighty so back to the drill.

We had two teeny tiny goals at either side of the usual goal. Do I exaggerate with how small they were? Probably but hey I’m writing the blog so you’re just gunna have to take my word for it. Into these teeny tiny goals we had to hit the ball into the corners of the goals to make it harder for the other side to block them. It was great practice, we just lined up, hit the ball, got the ball, ran back to the start and did it over and over again. It was really what I needed to just work on my aim. Which has long been one of my aims! Yes? Still with me? My aim is to work on my aim, by golly this is gold I’m giving you.

Once we had had our fill of the drills we started the game. I unfortunately had treacle foot- itis but my team mates fared a lot better. Oscar was thumping the balls in, Drew continued his reign as Mr Angles, Kit reminded us of how she got the name Blocks like a Boss and Kirsty was no slouch with her blocks either so all up it was a very cool very fast game.

It’s autumn in Adelaide now which means the mornings are cold but the afternoons warm up. Drew made a newbie mistake of wearing long pants to the game because of the cold morning and he was suffering by the time the game started. We really warm up when we play. I suggested that he buy those tracksuit pants that you used to unzip to become shorts. He thought I was suggesting that he buy the long pants the male strippers wear when they undress. He did the actions with the conversation and he was quite convincing. I opted to ask no further questions lest I should be afraid of the answers.

It was a wonderful training session I’m very fortunate to be able to train with a very funny group of people.

 

 

Leave a comment